Switch IDB Provisioning

Heres a short update on my lab experience.

My Cisco 3750 switch is stackable with similar switches using StackWise cables.  This makes the switch have to use the FastEthernet 1/0/1 designation.  My issue was that all interfaces were coming up as FA2/0/1 meaning the switch had been provisioned as switch #2 in a stack. I wanted to change it to switch #1 simply out of curiosity and to avoid having to remember which switch was provisioned wrong.

I tried a few commands but all I got was “%IDBs can not be removed when switch is active”.

A few searches later and I used these instructions to do what I wanted. Fun!

 

Leave a Reply

